Chat conversations

Updated 3 weeks ago by Arjun

You can start a chat conversation with anyone in your account or organization using quick chat or the chat hub.

Open a quick chat by simply clicking the chat icon on any page in Kissflow. To open the chat hub, click Chat under My space on the top navigation bar.

Starting a direct chat

On the All chats page, click the Start chat (+) button to start a direct chat. Select a member with whom you want to start a conversation, and then click Start a chat.

You can also use search to look up a member and start a direct chat.

In the Search box, type the name of the person with whom you want to start a chat conversation. From the search results that are displayed, select a member, and then click the Start a chat button to start a direct chat.

Starting a group chat

You can also start a chat conversation with multiple members using a group chat.

To start a group conversation, start by adding members you want to add to a group. Click the Start chat (+) button and keep adding members to the group. You should add a minimum of three members to start a group chat. After you have added the required members, enter a name for the group, and then click Start a group chat.

To rename the group, click on the current name of the group, enter a new name, and then click off the name. All changes are auto-saved.

Adding images and files in chat conversations

To add images and files in a chat conversation, click the Attachment button ( )and attach the file or image from either your local files, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox, or OneDrive. You can also copy paste images from other sources directly into the message window.

All the commonly used file formats are supported as attachments. For example, JPG, JPEG, JPE, PNG, GIF, PDF, DOC, PPT, MP4,XLSX,CSV,MP3, and so on.

The size limit per file cannot exceed more than 25MB.

Emojis and GIFs

To add an emoji or GIF in a message, click the Emoji button () to search and insert from a wide range of emojis or GIFs.

Pin or unpin conversations

You can pin upto three chat conversations to the top so that you can easily access them later. To pin a conversation, click the More options button () on a conversation, and then click Pin chat.

You can always unpin conversations that you no longer need to be on the top of your list. To unpin a conversation, click the More options button (), and then click Unpin chat.

Mute notifications

If you don't want to receive notifications about updates from conversations, you can mute them. To mute notifications, click the More options button () on a conversation, and then click Mute notifications.

Mentions

You can @mention other members in direct and group chats. Type @, enter the name, and then press Enter. Members are not notified when they are mentioned in a conversation they are not part of. However, you can add new members to a group when they are mentioned in a group chat.

Forwarding messages

You can forward text, images, files, links, and integration bot messages to other direct chats and chat groups. However, any system message cards or Google Meet links cannot be forwarded. Similarly, messages cannot be forwarded to or from an archived chat group.

The number of times a single chat message can be forwarded through a chain of chats is undefined.

To forward a chat message
  1. Access the chat hub or quick chat window and open a contact or chat group.
  2. Hover to the inside of the message bubble and click More options button ().
  3. In the dropdown, select Forward button ().
  4. In the popup window, select chats by clicking the check-box ().
    Messages can be forwarded with up to three chats at the same time.
  5. The original sender details are forwarded along with the message, by default. You can choose not to forward this information along with the forwarded message by disabling the checkbox.
  6. Click Send.

A Forward arrow ( ) and a Forward label text are displayed on top of a forwarded message once it has been forwarded to a chat or a group. The original sender's information is presented based on your preferences. It should be noted that while a forwarded message cannot be altered, it can be deleted.

Drafts

Unsent messages continue to remain as drafts in the message window. You can switch between chat conversations and still come back to the draft and edit it before sending the message.

Editing messages

You can edit your messages even after sending them.

Hover on the message you want to edit, and click More options () > Edit. After making changes to the message, click Update.

Deleting messages

Messages can be deleted from conversations. Deletion is permanent and you won't be able to recover a message after it is deleted. You cannot bulk-delete messages as well.

Hover on the message you want to delete, and click More options ()> Delete to delete it.

Only one message can be deleted at a time.


How did we do?