Creating and using board views

Modified 1 week ago

Sooryakanth K P

Who can create views

You can create views based on a subset of all the board data to have better context while working. This is ideal for teams inside teams. Board views can be created and saved in Kanban, List, or Matrix layouts.

Anyone in a board can create new private views based on the data they have access to, but only Admin can share views with other admins and members.

Creating and saving views

To create a new view, click the Create a view button () next to the Views menu,

  • In the View configuration on the right side of the page, provide a name for your view.
  • Choose a layout for your view.
  • Based on the layout you’ve chosen, you can arrange the items into columns and groups. 
    • For Kanban, group your items based on assignee, step, or custom user fields.
    • For List, group your items by the default list, assignees, steps, or custom fields.
    • For Matrix, arrange your items in columns and rows based on assignees, steps, and custom user fields.
  • You can also add normal and advanced filter conditions to track specific items on your unique views. Click Done to save the view.
Note: You cannot perform any actions on the view while making view configuration changes.

When a view is created, it’s automatically added under the Views menu. Click a specific view tab to access that view later. You can also pin views as tabs in your board.

Customizing views

As someone who created a view, you’ll have permission to delete a view or alter its existing view configuration by changing the layout and filter conditions.

Sharing views

You can make your view accessible to other admins and members of the board. To share a view, Open the Views menu, hover over the view you want to delete, and click the Down arrow ()> in the dropdown, click Share permission. A dialog box will pop up. Turn on the toggle switch that says Available to admins and members.

Editing views

Open the Views menu, hover over the view you want to edit, and click the Down arrow ()> in the dropdown, click Edit view. You’ll now be able to see the View configuration on the right side of the view. Make necessary changes to the view and click Done.

Deleting views

To delete a view, Open the Views menu, hover over the view you want to delete, and click the Down arrow ()> in the dropdown, click Delete view. The view will be permanently removed and cannot be accessed later.

Renaming views

To rename a view, Open the Views menu, hover over the view you want to rename, click the Down arrow ()> in the dropdown, click Rename view, and type in the new name.

Duplicating views

To duplicate a view, Open the Views menu, hover over the view you want to duplicate, and click the Down arrow ()> in the dropdown, click Duplicate this view. A dialog box will pop up in which you can name the view and share it with other admins and members if needed.

Did you find the article helpful?

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)