Managing group chats

Modified 2 months ago

Mekha Mathew

Kissflow Work Platform:

  • Small Business
  • Corporate
  • Enterprise

As an admin of the group, you can add or remove members, archive or delete groups, modify settings, and do a lot more.

Managing group settings

When you create an open group, you can add a unique name and icon to it. You can also configure it to enable anybody to join or to allow users to join once their join request has been approved by the group's admin.

By accessing the Group info section, you can easily modify these settings.To make these changes:

  • Sign into your Kissflow account, access Chat on the left navigation bar, and select the group you want to modify.
  • Inside your group chat window, click your Group’s name located at the top left corner of the chat window.
  • Under the Group info section, hover over the group name to update the name and click the icon to update the group logo. You can also add a description to your group.

As an admin of an open group, you can modify who can join the group. Similarly, you can customize who can send messages to the group. Select any one of the following options to decide who can send messages to the group:

  • All members.
  • Only admins.
  • Only Selected members.

You may pin, leave, archive, delete, and upgrade the group to a space in open, closed, and secret groups by clicking the More options button () beside the Start Conferencing button ().

Only admins can archive, delete, and upgrade a group to a space.

Upgrading the group to a space

If you want to have contextual conversations about specific topics and also want access to files, streams, forum, and chats, you can upgrade your group to a space. To upgrade an existing group to a space, 

  • Click the More options button () beside the Conferencing button () > click Upgrade to a space
  • A popup window appears where you can update your Space’s name and the default tabs that you want to appear inside the space. 
  • Click Confirm.

Once the space is created, you can access the space inside both the chat and space tabs. You can also navigate from a chat directly to space by opening the space in chat > More options button () > Go to space.

Adding/removing members

To add new members to your group:

  • Click Chat on the left navigation panel and click a group to open it.
  • Click Add members button () beside the Search icon (). Select the members you want to add to the group and click Add
  • Alternatively, click the group name to access the Group info panel on the right side of the chat window.
  • Under Members list > click Add members and follow the steps mentioned above.

To remove a member from a group, 

  • Click the group name > go to Members list.
  • Hover over the name your want to remove from the group > click the More options button () > click Remove member.

Leaving a group chat

You can exit a group chat that you are a member of. When you leave a group chat, you are removed from the group and will not be able to participate in future conversations in that group. You'll still have access to past discussions, files, and other media added to the group before you left. To leave a group chat, click the More options button () beside the Conferencing button () > click Leave chat.

Archiving and deleting group chats

You’ll lose access to a group you’re a part of once it’s archived. The group and its conversations and files are moved to the Archived chats section. You can still access the chat conversation and restore it by unarchiving it whenever you want to. To archive a group chat, 

  • Click the More options button () beside the Conferencing button () > click Archive chat.
  • Alternatively, you can click the group’s name to access the Group info panel. Then, under the members section, click Archive chat.

To restore an archived group chat,

  • Access the Chat tab.
  • Click the Hamburger button () > click Archived chats.
  • Select the group you want to unarchive.
  • Click the More options button () inside the chat window > click Unarchive chat.

Similarly, you can delete a group that you are a part of. When you delete a chat conversation, the entire conversation and any associated files are lost, and you will not be able to recover it. You can delete a chat conversation directly without having to archive it first.

To delete a group chat, 

  • Click the More options button () beside the Conferencing button ().
  • Click Delete chat from the dropdown list.
  • You can alternatively access the Group name and click Delete chat listed under Group info panel.

Did you find the article helpful?

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)