Configuring settings for a case system

Updated 2 months ago by Arjun

If you are an admin of a case system, you can configure the manner in which your case system behaves by making changes to certain settings.

To configure or change settings for a case system, click the More options button() > Settings on the case system page.

General settings

On the General tab, you can configure some of the main parameters of your case system. You can change the name and item type, as well as configure how titles appear on each case form:

  • Case system name - this field shows the current name of the case system. It is possible to change the name.
  • Item type - the type of cases that are managed in the case system. You can rename the item type here.
  • Configure form title - specify a format that is used to auto generate titles on each case form.
Configuring form titles

To configure form titles, click the Add button (+) and arrange default system fields or form fields in the order you want, and then click Save. Based on this format, titles are auto generated and are displayed on top of each case form.

Configuring custom statuses

Statuses indicate the progress of a case in a workflow. On the Workflow tab, you can view all the default statuses that are in use. Statuses are grouped into categories that correspond to typical phases in a workflow.

There are five default categories for statuses. You can create custom statuses under each of these categories except Reopened.

Category

Description

Not started

The statuses under this category are assigned to all new cases that have not yet progressed. 

Note: When you create a new case, it defaults to the first status under this category.

In progress

The statuses under this category are typically assigned to all cases that are in progress.

Done

This is an optional category. You can use this category for use cases where you need to temporarily park cases that are resolved but need to be validated before closure.

Closed

The statuses under this category are assigned to cases that don’t need any further action.

Reopened

The status under this category is assigned to cases that are reopened after closure. You cannot create new custom statuses under this category.

Creating a custom status

In addition to the default statuses under a category, you can create custom statuses according to your workflow. Custom statuses allow for detailed tracking of cases.

To create a new custom status, click the button next to a category, and enter a name for the status. You can create multiple custom statuses and reorder them according to your workflow. You can also customize statuses further  by assigning different colors to it. After making changes, click Save.

To delete a custom status that you no longer need, click the delete button next to a status. However, if there are cases mapped to this status, you will not be able to delete it. You will have to reassign these cases to a different status before deleting. There should also be at least one status under each category.

Done category

This is an optional category that you can use in your workflow when cases need to be reviewed before closure. For example, in help desks, agents first resolve tickets and move them to Done. They are later moved to Closed when customers verify the resolved tickets. If you don’t need this category, you can always turn it off on the Optional tab. 

When you turn off this category, you will be able to move cases that are in progress to closed directly. However, if you have already used a status from this category for cases, you will have to reassign them to a different status. The same conditions apply to features such as filters and integrations. Statuses from this category will no longer be of use in a custom filter or in any integrations you have set up.

Priority

Priority indicates the urgency to resolve a case. Setting a priority allows you to manage and track your cases efficiently.

For example, if there are cases that are of a higher priority, you can set their priority to High or Critical. Critical cases are easily identifiable and therefore easier to track.

On the Optional tab, you can turn on or off priority for the entire case system.

When you turn off priority, the Priority field will be hidden across the case system in:

  • Views
  • Form
  • Filters
  • Sort
  • Integrations

The field is hidden even if it was used to set up any of the above mentioned features.

For instance, if you created a filter that used priority, when you turn it off, the filter will no longer consider priority to filter cases.

Also, If you have used priority to define validations or create expressions in a form field, you will not be able to turn off priority. You will have to clear these dependencies first.


How did we do?